International Exchanges & Residencies

TBG+S and HIAP International Residency Exchange

TBG+S and HIAP International Residency Exchange


The HIAP residency provided a supportive atmosphere in which to meet and exchange ideas with other artists and curators. It afforded time and resources to develop photographic and written aspects of my practice at the beginning of a new phase of work.

Caroline Doolin, TBG+S and HIAP International Residency Exchange recipient 2018. 

Temple Bar Gallery + Studios (TBG+S) in partnership with HIAP - Helsinki International Artist Programme invites applications from Irish artists for the thirteenth annual residency exchange between Ireland and Finland in 2019.

The TBG+S/HIAP International Residency Exchange supports an Irish artist to spend three months in residency at HIAP in a live/work studio on the island of Suomenlinna in Helsinki during March – May 2019. A Finnish artist will have the opportunity to live in Dublin and work from a studio at TBG+S during May – June 2019.

Since the partnership began in 2007, TBG+S and HIAP have supported a total of 21 artists and curators from Ireland and Finland to undertake new creative work in the cities of Dublin and Helsinki through the exchange programme. Now a well-established opportunity, the TBG+S and HIAP exchange fosters opportunities for Irish artists to gain experience, build networks internationally and engage in an interdisciplinary dialogue with the HIAP community.

The TBG+S and HIAP International Residency Exchange is supported by Finnish Institute in London and the Arts Council of Ireland.


How to Apply:

The application form and guidelines on how to apply will be available to download approximately one month before the deadline.


Finnish artists may apply to the HIAP open call via the HIAP website.

Previous Residency Recipients:

2018: Caroline Doolin (IE) and Emma Jääskeläinen (FIN)
2017: Tamsin Snow (IE) and Diego Bruno (AR/FIN)
2016: Anne Maree Barry (IE) and Sara Bjarland (FIN)
2015: Barbara Knezevic (AU/IE) and Hanna Husberg (FIN)
2014: Margaret O'Brien (IE)
2013: Anita Delaney (IE)
2012: Seamus Nolan (IE)
2011: Alan Phelan (IE) and curator Jon Irigoyen (FIN)
2010: Martin Healy (IE) and curator Laura Köönikkä (FIN)
2009: Niamh McCann (IE) and Antti Leppänen (FIN)
2008: Niamh O'Malley (IE) and Heli Rekula (FIN)
2007: Sonia Shiel (IE) and Ulrika Ferm (FIN)

above image: 2016 HIAP Residency recipient Sara Bjarland in studio at TBG+S